Skip to content

Local students 're-elect' Dollin as Innisfil mayor

Student Vote supported incumbent in Monday's election
020622_student vote 2022
File photo

Local students had their say in Monday’s election in Innisfil through the Student Vote program.

The CIVIX Student Vote program saw 127,000 elementary and secondary school students cast ballots for who they wanted to see on municipal councils and school boards.

In Innisfil, students participated at Cookstown Central Public School, Holy Cross Catholic School, Kempenfelt Bay School, Killarney Beach Public School, Lake Simcoe Public School, St. Peter’s Catholic Secondary School and Sunnybrae Public School.

The students’ vote reflected the will of the electorate in the mayor’s race, as Lynn Dollin received 166 votes, while Daniel Davidson had 117.

In the deputy mayor’s race, 150 students voted for Kenneth Fowler and 123 supported Rob Nicol.

Students voted for the following ward councillors.

Ward 2: Carol Griffith

Ward 3: Andrew Harrigan

Ward 4: Steven Fishman and Alex Waters (tied)

Ward 7: Fred Drodge

Complete Student Vote results can be found here.