Skip to content

Team Canada comes calling for Barrie Colts Aitcheson, Beaudoin

Canada’s quest for gold at the 2024 IIHF U18 World Championship begins April 25 against Sweden

Two players from the Ontario Hockey League's Barrie Colts have been tapped to play for Canada at the upcoming under-18 world hockey championship in Finland. 

Defenceman Kashawn Aitcheson and forward Cole Beaudoin have both been named to the team, which will compete at the 2024 IIHF U18 World Championship from April 25 to May 5 in Espoo and Vantaa, Finland. 

The two Colts — who were recently ousted from the OHL playoffs in the first round by the Oshawa Generals — are among 19 Canadian Hockey League players who will don the maple leaf beginning later this month. 

They will be looking to win the country's first gold medal at the event since 2021. 

Canada's roster includes 10 players from the OHL, seven from the Western Hockey League (WHL) and two from the Quebec Maritimes Junior Hockey League (QMJHL).

Eleven of the 19 players named to Team Canada's roster were listed in NHL Central Scouting's final ranking ahead of the upcoming draft, including Beaudoin who was slotted at No. 25 among North American skaters. Barrie teammate Riley Patterson comes in at No. 61, followed by Bode Stewart at No. 126 and Beau Jelsma at No. 219.

In net, Canada will be led by a pair of OHL goalies in Carter George of the Owen Sound Attack and Ryerson Leenders of the Mississauga Steelheads.

Canada’s quest for gold at the 2024 IIHF U18 World Championship begins April 25 at noon against Sweden. Canada will play Czechia on April 26, Switzerland on April 28 and Kazakhstan on April 30 to close out the preliminary round. The semifinals are set for May 4 before the tournament concludes with the medal games on May 5.


Goaltenders (2)
Ryerson Leenders (Mississauga Steelheads/OHL)
Carter George (Owen Sound Attack/OHL)

Defencemen (6)
Kashawn Aitcheson (Barrie Colts/OHL)
Matthew Schaefer (Erie Otters/OHL)
Harrison Brunicke (Kamloops Blazers/WHL)
Reese Hamilton (Calgary Hitmen/WHL)
Spencer Gill (Rimouski Oceanic/QMJHL)
Charlie Elick (Brandon Wheat Kings/WHL)

Forwards (11)
Gavin McKenna (Medicine Hat Tigers/WHL)
Marek Vanacker (Brantford Bulldogs/OHL)
Malcolm Spence (Erie Otters/OHL)
Roger McQueen (Brandon Wheat Kings/WHL)
Jett Luchanko (Guelph Storm/OHL)
Ryder Ritchie (Prince Albert Raiders/WHL)
Porter Martone (Mississauga Steelheads/OHL)
Carson Wetsch (Calgary Hitmen/WHL)
Caleb Desnoyers (Moncton Wildcats/QMJHL)
Liam Greentree (Windsor Spitfires/OHL)
Cole Beaudoin (Barrie Colts/OHL)

Berkly Catton (Spokane Chiefs/WHL) and Cayden Lindstrom (Medicine Hat Tigers/WHL) were invited, but are unable to participate.