Skip to content

BREAKING: Nuttall declared next mayor of Barrie

City of Barrie's unofficial results show Nuttall as the winner with 13,401 votes, with Barry Ward is second place with 12,624
04-05-2022 Alex Nuttall
Alex Nuttall is the new mayor of Barrie, according to unofficial results from the City of Barrie.

Following Monday's city election, tonight's unofficial results show Alex Nuttall as the new mayor of Barrie. 

Barrie was destined to have a new mayor after Jeff Lehman opted not to seek a fourth term. Seven people were vying for the position. Barry Ward finished second with 12,624 votes, while Nuttall secured 13,401 votes, a margin of 777 votes. 

Barrie city council will have a decidedly different look during the 2022-26 term. 

Several of the wards were also poised to have a new councillor, including Wards 4 and 10 where the incumbent instead chose to run for mayor in Barry Ward and Mike McCann, respectively. 

In Ward 1, which includes some of the city's older neighbourhoods as well as numerous rental properties due to its proximity to Georgian College, incumbent Clare Riepma was re-elected in a three-person race.

In Ward 2, which includes the city's downtown, Keenan Aylwin did not seek a second term, leaving six people battling for the post. Craig Nixon was proclaimed the winner. 

Ward 3 was won by Doug Shipley in 2018, but he vacated the seat in 2019 after being voted in as the MP for Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte in the last federal election, which necessitated a byelection. Ann-Marie Kungl joined council in March 2020, after winning the byelection with 542 votes. Kungl retained her seat in what was a three-person race.

Ward 4 was bound to have a new representative on city council as councillor Barry Ward, who also served as deputy mayor this past term, set his sights on the big chair after more than two decades on council. Amy Courser was declared the winner Monday night. 

Ward 6 was also ready for a new councillor after Natalie Harris decided not to seek a second term, creating a four-person contest. Nigussie Nigussie was the victor.

In Ward 8, which includes the city's historic Allandale neighbourhood, incumbent Jim Harris won a second term Monday night. 

Ward 9 incumbent Sergio Morales, who was acclaimed in 2018 and has two terms under his belt, was up against three other people vying for his south-end seat. Morales claimed the seat again Monday. 

Ward 10, with two-term councillor Mike McCann seeking the mayor's chair, had a four-person battle as several newcomers threw their hat in the ring. Bryn Hamilton was named the winner. 

Wards 5 and 7 were both uncontested as Robert Thomson and Gary Harvey went unopposed to each secure a second term. 

BarrieToday will have more election coverage tonight. 

Reader Feedback

Raymond Bowe

About the Author: Raymond Bowe

Raymond is an award-winning journalist who has been reporting from Simcoe County since 2000
Read more